IND vs SL: India won the ODI series against Sri Lanka

The second match of the three-match ODI series between India and Sri Lanka was played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. India defeated Sri Lanka by four wickets to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat. Sri- Lanka scored an all-out 215 runs in 39.4 overs. The Indian team won the match by making a total of 219 runs for six wickets in 43.2 overs.

India won the ODI series

India won the three ODI series against Sri Lanka. In the match played at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, India won by four wickets. The Indian team had won the first game by 67 runs. Now the third and final match will be played at Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka won the coin toss and opted to bat first at the Eden Gardens on Thursday (Jan. 12). However, his decision did not prove to be correct. The Lankan team somehow managed to get past 200 runs. They were reduced to 215 runs in 39.4 overs. In turn, the Indian team reached the target in 43.2 overs despite losing wickets early. The Indian team won the match by 219 runs for six wickets.

KL Rahul played well

Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Siraj were the architects of India’s victory in bowling. At the same time, KL Rahul, the veteran batsman, put up a brilliant performance in the middle order. He took control of the game after four wickets fell for 86 runs and shared a 75-run partnership with Hardik Pandya for the fifth wicket. Hardik was dismissed after scoring 36 runs off 53 balls. After him, Rahul got the support of Akshar Patel. Both shared a 30-run partnership for the sixth wicket. KL Rahul remained unbeaten on 63 runs off 103 balls and Kuldeep Yadav scored 10 runs off 10 balls.

BCCI tweeted

Rohit and Virat couldn’t score well

India did not get off to a good start. By the 86th over, four of its batsmen had returned to the dressing room. Captain Rohit Sharma (17), Shubman Gill (21), Virat Kohli (four) and Shreyas Iyer were dismissed after scoring 28 runs. Earlier, Nuvanidu Fernando, making his debut for Sri Lanka, scored the most 50 runs. Kushal Mendis contributed 34 runs and Dimuth Velalge 32 runs.

To read more about sports visit our ‘Sports‘ section here.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts